RankedRobot
Home › Compare › Companion robots › Amazon.com Astro vs Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000)

Amazon.com Astro vs Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000)

Key facts

Amazon.com Astro (Amazon.com, Inc.; Pre-order) and Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000) (Sony Group Corporation; Shipping) are both companion robots. Published figures: weight 9.1 kg (20 lb) (reported) vs 2.2 kg (5 lb); runtime 2 h (reported) vs 2 h. Price: Amazon.com Astro US$999.99, US (official price); Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000) US$3,199.99, US (official price). RankedRobot rank among companion robots: Amazon.com Astro #6 of 7 (score 41.8, grade C), Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000) #5 of 7 (score 46.0, grade B). Disclosure: Amazon.com Astro has 23 sourced values (92% of tracked fields), Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000) has 20 (83%).

Cite: RankedRobot, https://rankedrobot.com/compare/amazon-astro-vs-sony-aibo-ers-1000/ (checked 2026-09-29) · Every figure below links to its source · Amazon.com Astro spec sheet · Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000) spec sheet

SpecAmazon.com AstroSony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000)
StatusPre-orderShipping
Price
US$999.99, US (official price) source
US$1,449.99, US (official price) source
US$1,599, US (reported price) source
US$3,199.99, US (official price) source
US$2,899.99, US (reported price) source
US$300/month, US (official price) source
Rank in category#6 of 7 · 41.8 · grade C#5 of 7 · 46.0 · grade B
Launch
Announced
Status
Body
Dimensions
Body height: 0.3; Periscope extended height: 1.07ReportedSource: tomsguide.com (2026-09-26)
D1: 0.18; D2: 0.293; D3: 0.305ManufacturerSource: helpguide.sony.net (2026-09-26)
Weight
Form factor
three-wheeled mobile robot with rotating display head and extending periscope cameraReportedSource: tomsguide.com (2026-09-26)
quadruped (robot dog)ManufacturerSource: us.aibo.com (2026-09-26)
IP rating
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: aboutamazon.com (2026-09-26)
Companion features
Interaction
Alexa voice assistant, autonomous home patrols, household member Visual ID recognition, video calling/intercom, item delivery via cargo bin, remote pet/family check-insManufacturerSource: aboutamazon.com (2026-09-26)
Face/voice/touch recognition, autonomous personality development, tricks, cloud-based memory of people and experiencesManufacturerSource: us.aibo.com (2026-09-26)
Voice assistant
Amazon Alexa (built-in)ManufacturerSource: aboutamazon.com (2026-09-26)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: us.aibo.com (2026-09-26)
Mobility
Three-wheeled autonomous mobile base, on-device SLAM navigation, approx. 1 m/s speedReportedSource: tomsguide.com (2026-09-26)
Autonomous quadruped walking with SLAM-based indoor navigationManufacturerSource: helpguide.sony.net (2026-09-26)
App
Alexa app / Amazon Astro appManufacturerSource: aboutamazon.com (2026-09-26)
Privacy features
Physical microphone/camera-off button with red indicator light; Visual ID data stored on-deviceManufacturerSource: aboutamazon.com (2026-09-26)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: us.aibo.com (2026-09-26)
Subscription
Ring Protect Pro required for autonomous patrols/event investigation and cloud video storage; ~$20/month after an included 6-month trialReportedSource: tomsguide.com (2026-09-26)
aibo AI Cloud Plan required for full functionality: 3 years included with purchase, then $300/year renewalManufacturerSource: us.aibo.com (2026-09-26)
Sensors
Cameras
Depth sensing
depth/obstacle sensors with dedicated safety processorManufacturerSource: aboutamazon.com (2026-09-26)
Not tracked
MicrophonesNot tracked
Power
Battery
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: aboutamazon.com (2026-09-26)
Runtime
2 hReportedSource: fortune.com (2026-09-29)Conditions: Constantly displaying videos and patrolling
2 hManufacturerSource: helpguide.sony.net (2026-09-26)Conditions: standard mode operation, as stated by manufacturer
Charge timeNot tracked
Commercial
Regions sold

Confidence labels: Manufacturer = stated by the maker · Verified = independently confirmed · Reported = credible media or retailer, not confirmed by the maker · ⚠ Unconfirmed = leak or single source · Not disclosed = not published. We never estimate missing figures. Add more robots to this comparison.

Quick answers

What is the difference between the Amazon.com Astro and the Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000)?

Published figures: weight 9.1 kg (20 lb) (reported) vs 2.2 kg (5 lb); runtime 2 h (reported) vs 2 h. Price: Amazon.com Astro US$999.99, US (official price); Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000) US$3,199.99, US (official price).

Which is cheaper, the Amazon.com Astro or the Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000)?

Price: Amazon.com Astro US$999.99, US (official price); Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000) US$3,199.99, US (official price). Prices are shown exactly as published, never converted or estimated.

Which ranks higher, the Amazon.com Astro or the Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000)?

RankedRobot rank among companion robots: Amazon.com Astro #6 of 7 (score 41.8, grade C), Sony Group Corporation aibo (ERS-1000) #5 of 7 (score 46.0, grade B). Method: https://rankedrobot.com/robot500/#method

Other comparisons

Spotted an error? Email [email protected] — every correction is published in our corrections log.