RankedRobot
Home › Compare › Collaborative robot arms (cobots) › Epson AX6 vs Universal Robots UR20

Epson AX6 vs Universal Robots UR20

Key facts

Epson AX6 (Epson; Shipping) and Universal Robots UR20 (Universal Robots; Shipping) are both collaborative robot arm (cobot)s. Published figures: weight 18 kg (40 lb) vs 64 kg (141 lb); payload 6 kg (13 lb) vs 20 kg (44 lb); reach 900 mm (35.4 in) vs 1,750 mm (68.9 in); repeatability 0.03 mm vs 0.1 mm; tool speed 2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph) vs 5 m/s (18 km/h · 11.2 mph). Only Universal Robots UR20 has a public price: US$62,990 (Standard), US (Electromate, authorized distributor) (reported price). RankedRobot rank among collaborative robot arms (cobots): Epson AX6 #6 of 13 collaborative robot arms (cobots) (score 58.0, grade B), Universal Robots UR20 #2 of 13 collaborative robot arms (cobots) (score 68.0, grade A). Disclosure: Epson AX6 has 22 sourced values (96% of tracked fields), Universal Robots UR20 has 21 (100%).

Cite: RankedRobot, https://rankedrobot.com/compare/epson-ax6-vs-universal-robots-ur20/ (checked 2026-10-01) · Every figure below links to its source · Epson AX6 spec sheet · Universal Robots UR20 spec sheet

SpecEpson AX6Universal Robots UR20
StatusShippingShipping
PriceNot published
US$62,990 (Standard), US (Electromate, authorized distributor) (reported price) source
Rank in category#6 of 13 collaborative robot arms (cobots) · 58.0 · grade B#2 of 13 collaborative robot arms (cobots) · 68.0 · grade A
Launch
Announced
Status
Body
Weight
18 kg (40 lb)ManufacturerSource: epson.com (2026-10-01)
Materials
Carbon fibre constructionManufacturerSource: epson.com (2026-10-01)
Not tracked
IP rating
More specifications
Mounting
Tabletop, ceiling, wallManufacturerSource: epson.com (2026-10-01)
Not tracked
ControllerNot tracked
Power supply
AC 100–240 V ±10%, 50–60 Hz or DC 48 V ±15%ManufacturerSource: epson.com (2026-10-01)
Not tracked
Cleanroom
ISO Class 5 (ISO 14644-1)ManufacturerSource: news.epson.com (2026-10-01)
Not tracked
Arm
Reach
900 mm (35.4 in)ManufacturerSource: epson.com (2026-10-01)
1,750 mm (68.9 in)ManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
Axes
Repeatability
Max tool speed
2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph)ManufacturerSource: epson.com (2026-10-01)Conditions: not statedMaker's figure is an "up to" value.
5 m/s (18 km/h · 11.2 mph)ManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
Joint ranges
J1 ±240°, J2 ±155°, J3 ±160°, J4 ±240°, J5 ±155°, J6 50 full rotationsManufacturerSource: epson.com (2026-10-01)
Base and Shoulder: ±360° working range, ±120°/s max speed (other joints not captured this session)ManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
FootprintNot tracked
Power consumptionNot tracked
ProgrammingNot tracked
PolyScope graphical user interface on 12-inch touchscreenManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
Payload
Payload
6 kg (13 lb)ManufacturerSource: epson.com (2026-10-01)Conditions: Maximum payload as stated; not a mobile/carry robot.
20 kg (44 lb)ManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)Conditions: Maximum standard payload of the arm (stationary, mounted); not a mobile/carry robot. 25 kg extended payload available under boundary conditions per the manual.
Software
SDK
AX Portal no-code software; customisable Python development environment; 3D simulatorManufacturerSource: epson.com (2026-10-01)
URScript scripting language; official ROS and ROS2 drivers (ur_robot_driver)ManufacturerSource: docs.universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
ROS supportNot tracked
ROS1 and ROS2 (official ur_robot_driver)ManufacturerSource: docs.universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
Safety
Certifications
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: epson.com (2026-10-01)
EN ISO 13849-1 (PLd, Cat.3); EN ISO 10218-1; UL 1740ManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
Collaborative operation
Power- and force-limitingManufacturerSource: epson.com (2026-10-01)
Not tracked

Confidence labels: Manufacturer = stated by the maker · Verified = independently confirmed · Reported = credible media or retailer, not confirmed by the maker · ⚠ Unconfirmed = leak or single source · Estimate = our calculation from official figures, method shown · Not disclosed = not published. We never guess missing figures. Add more robots to this comparison.

Quick answers

What is the difference between the Epson AX6 and the Universal Robots UR20?

Published figures: weight 18 kg (40 lb) vs 64 kg (141 lb); payload 6 kg (13 lb) vs 20 kg (44 lb); reach 900 mm (35.4 in) vs 1,750 mm (68.9 in); repeatability 0.03 mm vs 0.1 mm; tool speed 2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph) vs 5 m/s (18 km/h · 11.2 mph). Only Universal Robots UR20 has a public price: US$62,990 (Standard), US (Electromate, authorized distributor) (reported price).

Which is cheaper, the Epson AX6 or the Universal Robots UR20?

Only Universal Robots UR20 has a public price: US$62,990 (Standard), US (Electromate, authorized distributor) (reported price). Prices are shown exactly as published, never converted or estimated.

Which ranks higher, the Epson AX6 or the Universal Robots UR20?

RankedRobot rank among collaborative robot arms (cobots): Epson AX6 #6 of 13 collaborative robot arms (cobots) (score 58.0, grade B), Universal Robots UR20 #2 of 13 collaborative robot arms (cobots) (score 68.0, grade A). Method: https://rankedrobot.com/robot500/#method

Other comparisons

Spotted an error? Email corrections@rankedrobot.com — every correction is published in our corrections log.