RankedRobot
Home › Compare › Collaborative robot arms (cobots) › Franka Research 3 vs Universal Robots UR10e

Franka Research 3 vs Universal Robots UR10e

Key facts

Franka Research 3 (Franka Robotics GmbH; Shipping) and Universal Robots UR10e (Universal Robots; Shipping) are both collaborative robot arm (cobot)s. Published figures: weight 18.3 kg (40 lb) vs 33.3 kg (73 lb); payload 3 kg (7 lb) vs 12.5 kg (28 lb); reach 855 mm (33.7 in) vs 1,300 mm (51.2 in); repeatability 0.1 mm vs 0.05 mm; tool speed 2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph) vs 1 m/s (3.6 km/h · 2.2 mph). Only Universal Robots UR10e has a public price: US$44,636 (Standard), US (Electromate, authorized distributor) (reported price). Robot 500: Franka Research 3 #104 (score 51.8), Universal Robots UR10e #52 (score 61.1). Disclosure: Franka Research 3 has 19 sourced values (90% of tracked fields), Universal Robots UR10e has 21 (100%).

Cite: RankedRobot, https://rankedrobot.com/compare/franka-research-3-vs-universal-robots-ur10e/ (checked 2026-09-25) · Every figure below links to its source · Franka Research 3 spec sheet · Universal Robots UR10e spec sheet

SpecFranka Research 3Universal Robots UR10e
StatusShippingShipping
PriceNot published
US$44,636 (Standard), US (Electromate, authorized distributor) (reported price) source
Robot 500#104 · 51.8#52 · 61.1
Launch
Announced
Status
ShippingManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Body
Weight
18.3 kg (40 lb)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
IP rating
Arm
Reach
855 mm (33.7 in)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
1,300 mm (51.2 in)ManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
Axes
Repeatability
0.1 mmManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
Max tool speed
2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
1 m/s (3.6 km/h · 2.2 mph)ManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
Joint ranges
A1: ±166°; A2: ±105°; A3: ±166°; A4: -176° to -7°; A5: ±165°; A6: 25° to 265°; A7: ±175°ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Unlimited rotation of tool flange; ±360° for all other jointsManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
Footprint
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Power consumption
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Programming
Three interfaces: Desk (workflow/app-based), Ride (integration/teaching), FCI (1 kHz low-level real-time control)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
PolyScope graphical user interface on 12-inch touchscreenManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
Payload
Payload
3 kg (7 lb)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Conditions: Rated payload of the arm (stationary, mounted).
12.5 kg (28 lb)ManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)Conditions: Maximum payload of the arm as stated on the official tech spec sheet; not a mobile/carry robot.
Software
SDK
libfranka (open-source C++ interface) via Franka Control Interface (FCI); franka_ros for ROS 2ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
URScript scripting language; official ROS and ROS2 drivers (ur_robot_driver)ManufacturerSource: docs.universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
ROS support
ROS 2 (franka_ros, ROS 2 Control, MoveIt integration)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
ROS1 and ROS2 (official ur_robot_driver)ManufacturerSource: docs.universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)
Safety
Certifications
EN ISO 13849-1:2015 and EN ISO 10218-1:2011 (certification process ongoing); collaborative operation modes (monitored stop, hand-guiding) fully integrated in PLd, Cat.3ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
EN ISO 13849-1 (PLd, Cat.3); EN ISO 10218-1ManufacturerSource: universal-robots.com (2026-09-25)

Confidence labels: Manufacturer = stated by the maker · Verified = independently confirmed · Reported = credible media or retailer, not confirmed by the maker · ⚠ Unconfirmed = leak or single source · Not disclosed = not published. We never estimate missing figures. Add more robots to this comparison.

Quick answers

What is the difference between the Franka Research 3 and the Universal Robots UR10e?

Published figures: weight 18.3 kg (40 lb) vs 33.3 kg (73 lb); payload 3 kg (7 lb) vs 12.5 kg (28 lb); reach 855 mm (33.7 in) vs 1,300 mm (51.2 in); repeatability 0.1 mm vs 0.05 mm; tool speed 2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph) vs 1 m/s (3.6 km/h · 2.2 mph). Only Universal Robots UR10e has a public price: US$44,636 (Standard), US (Electromate, authorized distributor) (reported price).

Which is cheaper, the Franka Research 3 or the Universal Robots UR10e?

Only Universal Robots UR10e has a public price: US$44,636 (Standard), US (Electromate, authorized distributor) (reported price). Prices are shown exactly as published, never converted or estimated.

Which ranks higher in the Robot 500, the Franka Research 3 or the Universal Robots UR10e?

Robot 500: Franka Research 3 #104 (score 51.8), Universal Robots UR10e #52 (score 61.1). Method: https://rankedrobot.com/robot500/#method

Other comparisons

Spotted an error? Email [email protected] — every correction is published in our corrections log.