RankedRobot
Home › Compare › Collaborative robot arms (cobots) › FANUC Corporation CRX-10iA vs Franka Research 3

FANUC Corporation CRX-10iA vs Franka Research 3

Key facts

FANUC Corporation CRX-10iA (FANUC Corporation; Shipping) and Franka Research 3 (Franka Robotics GmbH; Shipping) are both collaborative robot arm (cobot)s. Published figures: weight 40 kg (88 lb) vs 18.3 kg (40 lb); payload 10 kg (22 lb) vs 3 kg (7 lb); reach 1,249 mm (49.2 in) vs 855 mm (33.7 in); repeatability 0.04 mm vs 0.1 mm; tool speed 1 m/s (3.6 km/h · 2.2 mph) vs 2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph). Neither maker has published a price. Robot 500: FANUC Corporation CRX-10iA #28 (score 64.3), Franka Research 3 #104 (score 51.8). Disclosure: FANUC Corporation CRX-10iA has 20 sourced values (91% of tracked fields), Franka Research 3 has 19 (90%).

Cite: RankedRobot, https://rankedrobot.com/compare/fanuc-crx-10ia-vs-franka-research-3/ (checked 2026-09-25) · Every figure below links to its source · FANUC Corporation CRX-10iA spec sheet · Franka Research 3 spec sheet

SpecFANUC Corporation CRX-10iAFranka Research 3
StatusShippingShipping
PriceNot publishedNot published
Robot 500#28 · 64.3#104 · 51.8
Launch
Announced
Status
ShippingManufacturerSource: fanuc.eu (2026-09-25)
ShippingManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Body
Weight
18.3 kg (40 lb)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
IP rating
Arm
Reach
CRX-10iA:1,249 mm (49.2 in)ManufacturerSource: crx.fanucamerica.com (2026-09-25)
CRX-10iA/L:1,418 mm (55.8 in)ManufacturerSource: crx.fanucamerica.com (2026-09-25)
855 mm (33.7 in)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Axes
Repeatability
0.1 mmManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
Max tool speed
1 m/s (3.6 km/h · 2.2 mph)ManufacturerSource: crx.fanucamerica.com (2026-09-25)
2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
Joint ranges
J1 380°, J2 360°, J3 570°, J4 380°, J5 360°, J6 450°ManufacturerSource: crx.fanucamerica.com (2026-09-25)
A1: ±166°; A2: ±105°; A3: ±166°; A4: -176° to -7°; A5: ±165°; A6: 25° to 265°; A7: ±175°ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Footprint
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Power consumption
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Programming
FANUC tablet teach pendant, lead-through teaching, drag-and-drop icons; R-30iB Plus (Mini) controllerManufacturerSource: fanucamerica.com (2026-09-25)
Three interfaces: Desk (workflow/app-based), Ride (integration/teaching), FCI (1 kHz low-level real-time control)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Payload
Payload
10 kg (22 lb)ManufacturerSource: crx.fanucamerica.com (2026-09-25)Conditions: Rated payload of the arm (stationary, mounted); same for both variants.
3 kg (7 lb)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Conditions: Rated payload of the arm (stationary, mounted).
Software
SDK
ROBOGUIDE offline simulation/programming software; tablet teach-pendant "iRProgramming" interfaceManufacturerSource: fanucamerica.com (2026-09-25)
libfranka (open-source C++ interface) via Franka Control Interface (FCI); franka_ros for ROS 2ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
ROS support
Official FANUC ROS 2 driver (open source, fanuc_driver) supports the CRX seriesManufacturerSource: fanucamerica.com (2026-09-25)
ROS 2 (franka_ros, ROS 2 Control, MoveIt integration)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Safety
Certifications
ISO 10218-1; ISO 13849-1 certifiedManufacturerSource: fanucamerica.com (2026-09-25)
EN ISO 13849-1:2015 and EN ISO 10218-1:2011 (certification process ongoing); collaborative operation modes (monitored stop, hand-guiding) fully integrated in PLd, Cat.3ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)

Confidence labels: Manufacturer = stated by the maker · Verified = independently confirmed · Reported = credible media or retailer, not confirmed by the maker · ⚠ Unconfirmed = leak or single source · Not disclosed = not published. We never estimate missing figures. Add more robots to this comparison.

Quick answers

What is the difference between the FANUC Corporation CRX-10iA and the Franka Research 3?

Published figures: weight 40 kg (88 lb) vs 18.3 kg (40 lb); payload 10 kg (22 lb) vs 3 kg (7 lb); reach 1,249 mm (49.2 in) vs 855 mm (33.7 in); repeatability 0.04 mm vs 0.1 mm; tool speed 1 m/s (3.6 km/h · 2.2 mph) vs 2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph). Neither maker has published a price.

Which is cheaper, the FANUC Corporation CRX-10iA or the Franka Research 3?

Neither maker has published a price. Prices are shown exactly as published, never converted or estimated.

Which ranks higher in the Robot 500, the FANUC Corporation CRX-10iA or the Franka Research 3?

Robot 500: FANUC Corporation CRX-10iA #28 (score 64.3), Franka Research 3 #104 (score 51.8). Method: https://rankedrobot.com/robot500/#method

Other comparisons

Spotted an error? Email [email protected] — every correction is published in our corrections log.