RankedRobot
Home › Compare › Collaborative robot arms (cobots) › Franka Research 3 vs UFACTORY xArm 6

Franka Research 3 vs UFACTORY xArm 6

Key facts

Franka Research 3 (Franka Robotics GmbH; Shipping) and UFACTORY xArm 6 (UFACTORY; Shipping) are both collaborative robot arm (cobot)s. Published figures: weight 18.3 kg (40 lb) vs 12.5 kg (28 lb); payload 3 kg (7 lb) vs 5 kg (11 lb); reach 855 mm (33.7 in) vs 700 mm (27.6 in); repeatability 0.1 mm vs 0.1 mm; tool speed 2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph) vs 1 m/s (3.6 km/h · 2.2 mph). Only UFACTORY xArm 6 has a public price: US$8,399 (Standard), Global (UFACTORY online shop, EXW China) (official price). Robot 500: Franka Research 3 #104 (score 51.8), UFACTORY xArm 6 #107 (score 51.6). Disclosure: Franka Research 3 has 19 sourced values (90% of tracked fields), UFACTORY xArm 6 has 17 (81%).

Cite: RankedRobot, https://rankedrobot.com/compare/franka-research-3-vs-ufactory-xarm-6/ (checked 2026-09-25) · Every figure below links to its source · Franka Research 3 spec sheet · UFACTORY xArm 6 spec sheet

SpecFranka Research 3UFACTORY xArm 6
StatusShippingShipping
PriceNot published
US$8,399 (Standard), Global (UFACTORY online shop, EXW China) (official price) source
Robot 500#104 · 51.8#107 · 51.6
Launch
Announced
2018-01-01ManufacturerSource: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)
Status
ShippingManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Body
Weight
18.3 kg (40 lb)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
12.5 kg (28 lb)ManufacturerSource: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)
IP rating
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)
Arm
Reach
855 mm (33.7 in)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
700 mm (27.6 in)ManufacturerSource: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)
Axes
Repeatability
0.1 mmManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
Max tool speed
2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
1 m/s (3.6 km/h · 2.2 mph)ManufacturerSource: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)
Joint ranges
A1: ±166°; A2: ±105°; A3: ±166°; A4: -176° to -7°; A5: ±165°; A6: 25° to 265°; A7: ±175°ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
J1,J4,J6: ±360°; J2: -118°~120°; J3: -225°~11°; J5: -97°~180°⚠ UnconfirmedSource: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)
Footprint
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)
Power consumption
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)
Programming
Three interfaces: Desk (workflow/app-based), Ride (integration/teaching), FCI (1 kHz low-level real-time control)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
UFACTORY Studio (GUI, graphical/drag-and-drop programming, hand teaching)ManufacturerSource: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)
Payload
Payload
3 kg (7 lb)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Conditions: Rated payload of the arm (stationary, mounted).
5 kg (11 lb)ManufacturerSource: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)Conditions: Rated payload of the arm (stationary, mounted).
Software
SDK
libfranka (open-source C++ interface) via Franka Control Interface (FCI); franka_ros for ROS 2ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
UFACTORY Studio (graphical programming); Python SDKManufacturerSource: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)
ROS support
ROS 2 (franka_ros, ROS 2 Control, MoveIt integration)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
ROS and ROS2 supportedManufacturerSource: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)
Safety
Certifications
EN ISO 13849-1:2015 and EN ISO 10218-1:2011 (certification process ongoing); collaborative operation modes (monitored stop, hand-guiding) fully integrated in PLd, Cat.3ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: ufactory.cc (2026-09-25)

Confidence labels: Manufacturer = stated by the maker · Verified = independently confirmed · Reported = credible media or retailer, not confirmed by the maker · ⚠ Unconfirmed = leak or single source · Not disclosed = not published. We never estimate missing figures. Add more robots to this comparison.

Quick answers

What is the difference between the Franka Research 3 and the UFACTORY xArm 6?

Published figures: weight 18.3 kg (40 lb) vs 12.5 kg (28 lb); payload 3 kg (7 lb) vs 5 kg (11 lb); reach 855 mm (33.7 in) vs 700 mm (27.6 in); repeatability 0.1 mm vs 0.1 mm; tool speed 2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph) vs 1 m/s (3.6 km/h · 2.2 mph). Only UFACTORY xArm 6 has a public price: US$8,399 (Standard), Global (UFACTORY online shop, EXW China) (official price).

Which is cheaper, the Franka Research 3 or the UFACTORY xArm 6?

Only UFACTORY xArm 6 has a public price: US$8,399 (Standard), Global (UFACTORY online shop, EXW China) (official price). Prices are shown exactly as published, never converted or estimated.

Which ranks higher in the Robot 500, the Franka Research 3 or the UFACTORY xArm 6?

Robot 500: Franka Research 3 #104 (score 51.8), UFACTORY xArm 6 #107 (score 51.6). Method: https://rankedrobot.com/robot500/#method

Other comparisons

Spotted an error? Email [email protected] — every correction is published in our corrections log.