RankedRobot
Home › Compare › Collaborative robot arms (cobots) › ABB GoFa (CRB 15000) vs Franka Research 3

ABB GoFa (CRB 15000) vs Franka Research 3

Key facts

ABB GoFa (CRB 15000) (ABB Robotics (ABB Ltd); Shipping) and Franka Research 3 (Franka Robotics GmbH; Shipping) are both collaborative robot arm (cobot)s. Published figures: payload 5 kg (11 lb) vs 3 kg (7 lb); reach 950 mm (37.4 in) vs 855 mm (33.7 in); repeatability 0.02 mm vs 0.1 mm; tool speed 2.2 m/s (7.9 km/h · 4.9 mph) vs 2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph). Published for only one of them: weight (Franka Research 3: 18.3 kg (40 lb)). Neither maker has published a price. Robot 500: ABB GoFa (CRB 15000) #73 (score 58.0), Franka Research 3 #104 (score 51.8). Disclosure: ABB GoFa (CRB 15000) has 20 sourced values (83% of tracked fields), Franka Research 3 has 19 (90%).

Cite: RankedRobot, https://rankedrobot.com/compare/abb-gofa-crb-15000-vs-franka-research-3/ (checked 2026-09-25) · Every figure below links to its source · ABB GoFa (CRB 15000) spec sheet · Franka Research 3 spec sheet

SpecABB GoFa (CRB 15000)Franka Research 3
StatusShippingShipping
PriceNot publishedNot published
Robot 500#73 · 58.0#104 · 51.8
Launch
Announced
2021-02-24ManufacturerSource: new.abb.com (2026-09-25)
Status
ShippingManufacturerSource: abb.com (2026-09-25)
ShippingManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Body
Weight
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: abb.com (2026-09-25)
18.3 kg (40 lb)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
IP rating
Arm
Reach
GoFa 5 (CRB 15000-5/0.95):950 mm (37.4 in)ManufacturerSource: abb.com (2026-09-25)
GoFa 10 (CRB 15000-10/1.52):1,520 mm (59.8 in)ManufacturerSource: abb.com (2026-09-25)
GoFa 12 (CRB 15000-12/1.27):1,270 mm (50 in)ManufacturerSource: abb.com (2026-09-25)
855 mm (33.7 in)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Axes
Repeatability
0.02 mmManufacturerSource: abb.com (2026-09-25)
0.1 mmManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
Max tool speed
2.2 m/s (7.9 km/h · 4.9 mph)ManufacturerSource: abb.com (2026-09-25)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
Joint ranges
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: abb.com (2026-09-25)
A1: ±166°; A2: ±105°; A3: ±166°; A4: -176° to -7°; A5: ±165°; A6: 25° to 265°; A7: ±175°ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Footprint
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: abb.com (2026-09-25)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Power consumption
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: abb.com (2026-09-25)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Programming
Tablet/smartphone-style app-based programming (ABB Wizard easy programming); lead-through teachingManufacturerSource: new.abb.com (2026-09-25)
Three interfaces: Desk (workflow/app-based), Ride (integration/teaching), FCI (1 kHz low-level real-time control)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Payload
Payload
GoFa 5 (CRB 15000-5/0.95):5 kg (11 lb)ManufacturerSource: abb.com (2026-09-25)Conditions: Nominal rated payload, stationary/mounted arm.
GoFa 10 (CRB 15000-10/1.52):12 kg (26 lb)ManufacturerSource: abb.com (2026-09-25)Conditions: ABB's site marks this figure with a footnote (conditional rating); exact condition text not captured within budget.
GoFa 12 (CRB 15000-12/1.27):14 kg (31 lb)ManufacturerSource: abb.com (2026-09-25)Conditions: ABB's site marks this figure with a footnote (conditional rating); exact condition text not captured within budget.
3 kg (7 lb)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)Conditions: Rated payload of the arm (stationary, mounted).
Software
SDK
ABB RobotStudio (offline programming/simulation); FlexPendant/Wizard easy-programming interfaceManufacturerSource: abb.com (2026-09-25)
libfranka (open-source C++ interface) via Franka Control Interface (FCI); franka_ros for ROS 2ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
ROS supportNot tracked
ROS 2 (franka_ros, ROS 2 Control, MoveIt integration)ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)
Safety
Certifications
ISO 10218-1 (collaborative robot safety standard framework)⚠ UnconfirmedSource: new.abb.com (2026-09-25)
EN ISO 13849-1:2015 and EN ISO 10218-1:2011 (certification process ongoing); collaborative operation modes (monitored stop, hand-guiding) fully integrated in PLd, Cat.3ManufacturerSource: franka.de (2026-09-25)

Confidence labels: Manufacturer = stated by the maker · Verified = independently confirmed · Reported = credible media or retailer, not confirmed by the maker · ⚠ Unconfirmed = leak or single source · Not disclosed = not published. We never estimate missing figures. Add more robots to this comparison.

Quick answers

What is the difference between the ABB GoFa (CRB 15000) and the Franka Research 3?

Published figures: payload 5 kg (11 lb) vs 3 kg (7 lb); reach 950 mm (37.4 in) vs 855 mm (33.7 in); repeatability 0.02 mm vs 0.1 mm; tool speed 2.2 m/s (7.9 km/h · 4.9 mph) vs 2 m/s (7.2 km/h · 4.5 mph). Published for only one of them: weight (Franka Research 3: 18.3 kg (40 lb)).

Which is cheaper, the ABB GoFa (CRB 15000) or the Franka Research 3?

Neither maker has published a price. Prices are shown exactly as published, never converted or estimated.

Which ranks higher in the Robot 500, the ABB GoFa (CRB 15000) or the Franka Research 3?

Robot 500: ABB GoFa (CRB 15000) #73 (score 58.0), Franka Research 3 #104 (score 51.8). Method: https://rankedrobot.com/robot500/#method

Other comparisons

Spotted an error? Email [email protected] — every correction is published in our corrections log.