RankedRobot
Home › Compare › Humanoid robots › Boston Dynamics Atlas vs Figure 03

Boston Dynamics Atlas vs Figure 03

Key facts

Boston Dynamics Atlas (Boston Dynamics; Pilot) and Figure 03 (Figure AI; Prototype) are both humanoid robots. Published figures: height 1.9 m (6 ft 3 in) vs 1.73 m (5 ft 8 in); weight 90 kg (198 lb) vs 61 kg (134 lb); payload 30 kg (66 lb) vs 20 kg (44 lb); runtime 4 h vs 5 h. Published for only one of them: degrees of freedom (Boston Dynamics Atlas: 56); walking speed (Figure 03: 1.2 m/s (4.3 km/h · 2.7 mph)). Neither maker has published a price. Robot 500: Boston Dynamics Atlas #47 (score 61.6), Figure 03 #90 (score 55.4). Disclosure: Boston Dynamics Atlas has 16 sourced values (57% of tracked fields), Figure 03 has 17 (61%).

Cite: RankedRobot, https://rankedrobot.com/compare/boston-dynamics-atlas-vs-figure-03/ (checked 2026-09-26) · Every figure below links to its source · Boston Dynamics Atlas spec sheet · Figure 03 spec sheet

SpecBoston Dynamics AtlasFigure 03
StatusPilotPrototype
PriceNot publishedNot published
Robot 500#47 · 61.6#90 · 55.4
Launch
Announced
2025-10-09ManufacturerSource: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Status
PrototypeManufacturerSource: figure.ai (2026-09-24)
Units deployed
350ManufacturerSource: figure.ai (2026-09-24)Conditions: cumulative units produced/allocated, as of 2026-04-29
Body
Height
1.9 m (6 ft 3 in)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)
1.73 m (5 ft 8 in)ManufacturerSource: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Weight
90 kg (198 lb)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)
61 kg (134 lb)ManufacturerSource: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Form factor
IP rating
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Mobility
Max walking speed
1.2 m/s (4.3 km/h · 2.7 mph)ManufacturerSource: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Dexterity
Total degrees of freedom
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
DOF per hand
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Payload
Carry payload
30 kg (66 lb)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)Conditions: sustained (not instant/peak); per definitions.md, maker's "instant" figure recorded separately as peak_lift
20 kg (44 lb)ManufacturerSource: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Per-arm payload
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Peak lift
50 kg (110 lb)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)Conditions: short-duration/instant lift, per manufacturer's product page
Not tracked
Compute & AI
Processor
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
AI performance
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Teleoperation
Teleoperation for training data (company statement)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-26)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Sensors
Cameras
Tactile sensing and 360° camera view (exact camera count not stated)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)
Palm camera in each hand; wider field of view, higher frame rate and lower latency vs Figure 02 (exact counts/specs not stated)ManufacturerSource: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
MicrophonesNot tracked
Repositioned microphone for improved clarity (count not stated)ManufacturerSource: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Power
Battery
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Runtime
4 hManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)Conditions: task not stated by manufacturer
5 hManufacturerSource: figure.ai (2026-09-23)Conditions: task not stated by manufacturer
Charge time
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Hot-swappable battery
Software
SDK
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Safety
Certifications
Battery certified to UN38.3ManufacturerSource: figure.ai (2026-09-23)
Commercial
Regions sold
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: figure.ai (2026-09-23)

Confidence labels: Manufacturer = stated by the maker · Verified = independently confirmed · Reported = credible media or retailer, not confirmed by the maker · ⚠ Unconfirmed = leak or single source · Not disclosed = not published. We never estimate missing figures. Add more robots to this comparison.

Quick answers

What is the difference between the Boston Dynamics Atlas and the Figure 03?

Published figures: height 1.9 m (6 ft 3 in) vs 1.73 m (5 ft 8 in); weight 90 kg (198 lb) vs 61 kg (134 lb); payload 30 kg (66 lb) vs 20 kg (44 lb); runtime 4 h vs 5 h. Published for only one of them: degrees of freedom (Boston Dynamics Atlas: 56); walking speed (Figure 03: 1.2 m/s (4.3 km/h · 2.7 mph)).

Which is cheaper, the Boston Dynamics Atlas or the Figure 03?

Neither maker has published a price. Prices are shown exactly as published, never converted or estimated.

Which ranks higher in the Robot 500, the Boston Dynamics Atlas or the Figure 03?

Robot 500: Boston Dynamics Atlas #47 (score 61.6), Figure 03 #90 (score 55.4). Method: https://rankedrobot.com/robot500/#method

Other comparisons

Spotted an error? Email [email protected] — every correction is published in our corrections log.