RankedRobot
Home › Compare › Humanoid robots › Boston Dynamics Atlas vs Unitree R1

Boston Dynamics Atlas vs Unitree R1

Key facts

Boston Dynamics Atlas (Boston Dynamics; Pilot) and Unitree R1 (Unitree Robotics; Shipping) are both humanoid robots. Published figures: height 1.9 m (6 ft 3 in) vs 1.23 m (4 ft 0 in); weight 90 kg (198 lb) vs 27 kg (60 lb); degrees of freedom 56 vs 20; runtime 4 h vs 60 min. Published for only one of them: payload (Boston Dynamics Atlas: 30 kg (66 lb)). Only Unitree R1 has a public price: US$4,900 (R1 Air), US/global store (official price). Robot 500: Boston Dynamics Atlas #47 (score 61.6), Unitree R1 #35 (score 63.2). Disclosure: Boston Dynamics Atlas has 16 sourced values (57% of tracked fields), Unitree R1 has 23 (51%).

Cite: RankedRobot, https://rankedrobot.com/compare/boston-dynamics-atlas-vs-unitree-r1/ (checked 2026-09-26) · Every figure below links to its source · Boston Dynamics Atlas spec sheet · Unitree R1 spec sheet

SpecBoston Dynamics AtlasUnitree R1
StatusPilotShipping
PriceNot published
US$4,900 (R1 Air), US/global store (official price) source
US$5,900 (R1), US/global store (official price) source
Robot 500#47 · 61.6#35 · 63.2
Launch
Announced
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Status
Units deployed
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Body
Height
1.9 m (6 ft 3 in)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)
1.23 m (4 ft 0 in)ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Weight
90 kg (198 lb)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)
R1 Air:27 kg (60 lb)ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
R1:29 kg (64 lb)ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
R1 EDU:29 kg (64 lb)ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Form factor
IP rating
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Mobility
Max walking speed
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Dexterity
Total degrees of freedom
R1 EDU:40ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
DOF per hand
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Payload
Carry payload
30 kg (66 lb)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)Conditions: sustained (not instant/peak); per definitions.md, maker's "instant" figure recorded separately as peak_lift
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Per-arm payload
2 kg (4 lb)ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Peak lift
50 kg (110 lb)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)Conditions: short-duration/instant lift, per manufacturer's product page
Not tracked
Compute & AI
Processor
8-Core High-Performance ProcessorManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
AI performance
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
AI stackNot tracked
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Teleoperation
Teleoperation for training data (company statement)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-26)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Sensors
Cameras
Tactile sensing and 360° camera view (exact camera count not stated)ManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)
R1 Air:Monocular cameraManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
R1:Binocular cameraManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Depth sensingNot tracked
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
LiDARNot tracked
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
IMUNot tracked
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
MicrophonesNot tracked
4-mic arrayManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Force/torqueNot tracked
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Power
Battery
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Runtime
4 hManufacturerSource: bostondynamics.com (2026-09-23)Conditions: task not stated by manufacturer
60 minManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)Conditions: task not stated by manufacturer
Charge time
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Hot-swappable battery
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Software
SDK
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
ROS supportNot tracked
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Open sourceNot tracked
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
App ecosystemNot tracked
Intelligent OTA software updatesManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Safety
Certifications
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Collaborative operationNot tracked
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Commercial
Regions sold
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)

Confidence labels: Manufacturer = stated by the maker · Verified = independently confirmed · Reported = credible media or retailer, not confirmed by the maker · ⚠ Unconfirmed = leak or single source · Not disclosed = not published. We never estimate missing figures. Add more robots to this comparison.

Quick answers

What is the difference between the Boston Dynamics Atlas and the Unitree R1?

Published figures: height 1.9 m (6 ft 3 in) vs 1.23 m (4 ft 0 in); weight 90 kg (198 lb) vs 27 kg (60 lb); degrees of freedom 56 vs 20; runtime 4 h vs 60 min. Published for only one of them: payload (Boston Dynamics Atlas: 30 kg (66 lb)).

Which is cheaper, the Boston Dynamics Atlas or the Unitree R1?

Only Unitree R1 has a public price: US$4,900 (R1 Air), US/global store (official price). Prices are shown exactly as published, never converted or estimated.

Which ranks higher in the Robot 500, the Boston Dynamics Atlas or the Unitree R1?

Robot 500: Boston Dynamics Atlas #47 (score 61.6), Unitree R1 #35 (score 63.2). Method: https://rankedrobot.com/robot500/#method

Other comparisons

Spotted an error? Email [email protected] — every correction is published in our corrections log.