RankedRobot
Home › Compare › Humanoid robots › Unitree R1 vs XPENG IRON

Unitree R1 vs XPENG IRON

Key facts

Unitree R1 (Unitree Robotics; Shipping) and XPENG IRON (XPENG; Prototype) are both humanoid robots. Published figures: degrees of freedom 20 vs 76. Published for only one of them: height (Unitree R1: 1.23 m (4 ft 0 in)); weight (Unitree R1: 27 kg (60 lb)); hand DOF (XPENG IRON: 21); runtime (Unitree R1: 60 min). Only Unitree R1 has a public price: US$4,900 (R1 Air), US/global store (official price). Robot 500: Unitree R1 #35 (score 63.2), XPENG IRON #53 (score 61.0). Disclosure: Unitree R1 has 23 sourced values (51% of tracked fields), XPENG IRON has 13 (48%).

Cite: RankedRobot, https://rankedrobot.com/compare/unitree-r1-vs-xpeng-iron/ (checked 2026-09-24) · Every figure below links to its source · Unitree R1 spec sheet · XPENG IRON spec sheet

SpecUnitree R1XPENG IRON
StatusShippingPrototype
Price
US$4,900 (R1 Air), US/global store (official price) source
US$5,900 (R1), US/global store (official price) source
Not published
Robot 500#35 · 63.2#53 · 61.0
Launch
Announced
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
2025-11-05ManufacturerSource: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Status
PrototypeManufacturerSource: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Units deployed
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Body
Height
1.23 m (4 ft 0 in)ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Weight
R1 Air:27 kg (60 lb)ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
R1:29 kg (64 lb)ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
R1 EDU:29 kg (64 lb)ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Form factor
MaterialsNot tracked
Proprietary fully enclosed flexible lattice structureManufacturerSource: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
IP rating
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not tracked
Mobility
Max walking speed
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Dexterity
Total degrees of freedom
R1 EDU:40ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
DOF per hand
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Payload
Carry payload
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Per-arm payload
2 kg (4 lb)ManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Compute & AI
Processor
8-Core High-Performance ProcessorManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Three Turing AI chipsManufacturerSource: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
AI performance
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
2,250 TOPSManufacturerSource: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)Maker's figure is an "up to" value.
AI stack
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not tracked
Teleoperation
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
None statedManufacturerSource: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Sensors
Cameras
R1 Air:Monocular cameraManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
R1:Binocular cameraManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Depth sensing
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not tracked
LiDAR
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not tracked
IMU
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not tracked
Microphones
4-mic arrayManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not tracked
Force/torque
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not tracked
Power
Battery
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Runtime
60 minManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)Conditions: task not stated by manufacturer
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Charge time
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Hot-swappable battery
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Software
SDK
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
ROS support
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not tracked
Open source
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not tracked
App ecosystem
Intelligent OTA software updatesManufacturerSource: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not tracked
Safety
Certifications
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)
Collaborative operation
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not tracked
Commercial
Regions sold
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: unitree.com (2026-09-24)
Not disclosedNot disclosedChecked: xpeng.com (2026-09-23)

Confidence labels: Manufacturer = stated by the maker · Verified = independently confirmed · Reported = credible media or retailer, not confirmed by the maker · ⚠ Unconfirmed = leak or single source · Not disclosed = not published. We never estimate missing figures. Add more robots to this comparison.

Quick answers

What is the difference between the Unitree R1 and the XPENG IRON?

Published figures: degrees of freedom 20 vs 76. Published for only one of them: height (Unitree R1: 1.23 m (4 ft 0 in)); weight (Unitree R1: 27 kg (60 lb)); hand DOF (XPENG IRON: 21); runtime (Unitree R1: 60 min).

Which is cheaper, the Unitree R1 or the XPENG IRON?

Only Unitree R1 has a public price: US$4,900 (R1 Air), US/global store (official price). Prices are shown exactly as published, never converted or estimated.

Which ranks higher in the Robot 500, the Unitree R1 or the XPENG IRON?

Robot 500: Unitree R1 #35 (score 63.2), XPENG IRON #53 (score 61.0). Method: https://rankedrobot.com/robot500/#method

Other comparisons

Spotted an error? Email [email protected] — every correction is published in our corrections log.